Coming home…with our girls in our lives

I am naming this post “coming home with our girls in our lives,” because it is a celebration… period. They are in our lives and although we did not welcome them home tonight, they are already home in our hearts. We are exhausted emotionally and physically, but we cannot deny how big our hearts feel at this moment that we have daughters that are beautiful, strong and showing us such strength.

Thank you for all the wonderful messages, prayers, and constant support especially today. Bryan and I both feel peace in our hearts that they are being well cared for and that God is providing each and everyday. Tomorrow, they will be five days old. It has been the best five days of my life and I know Bryan would agree. As people of faith, we have seen God in the eyes of our little Emily, Avery and Camdyn.

Let me give you an update on how powerful your prayers are and how they are being answered:

1. All girls are off assisted breathing except for basic oxygen in their nose.
2. All the girls’ EKG came back with wonderful results that the medicine to close their little heart valves worked like a charm. This was huge!
3. Emily, our smallest, but don’t let that fool you – Took a feeding for the very first time and took every last drop! They give their feeding through a tiny tube in their nose over a period of time. The nurse said that most times on the first try that babies will not take it all. Not our hungry girl!
4. All girls had to “go to the bathroom” in order to “advance” to a feeding. Emily led the way and Avery and Camdyn will start their feedings tomorrow morning.
5. All girls had to endure PIC lines for central feeding and took it like champ. The best part of that is that it gave us the opportunity to hold them yesterday.
6. Skin to skin is the best feeling in the world with your new babies. Both Bryan and I participated in placing at least one of the girls on our bare chest in a little pouch of our shirts just like a “joey” kangaroo. It was a moment I will never forget.

And lastly, a blessing that may seem a little odd but it is truly a miracle is that I am already producing breast milk. This is huge and I have been able to supply the nurses with what the girls need for more than enough days, so I just continue to keep on providing what they need.

Bryan and I are going to take this day by day with the help of amazing family, friends and a wonderfully capable team of medical professionals at Mercy who have already won our hearts for being true advocates for our daughters. We had amazing care while at Mercy including our fantastic perinatalogist, Dr. Charles Mirabile who we endearly call Chuck. Yes, we have called him Chuck ๐Ÿ™‚

I know you are all dying for pictures and now that we are home, I can start posting the best of the best of our new family of five! I will have many more to post in the next few days! Don’t ask who is who right now ๐Ÿ™‚ We will label the rest later. These were taken right in the delivery room. My favorite is of course of daddy holding what we think is Avery…

4 thoughts on “Coming home…with our girls in our lives

  1. They are so precious! They aren’t nearly as tiny as I was expecting. You and Bryan are amazingly strong people. I’m sure that’s why God handed these special girls to you.

  2. Thank you so much for taking the time to write all this about your dear sweet babies. It’s so uplifting and exciting to hear how you are feeling, what you are doing and how the babies are. Just know we are all thinking of you and praying for each of you.

    Thank you for letting us all be a part of this wonderful time in your lives!!! Now I will wipe away the tears!

  3. I am truly blessed to have you as my daughter and Bryan as my son in law. He showed how much love and care he has for you and his new girls. I am overwhelmed with happiness to even been able to experience this and I plan to love them everyday the rest my life.

  4. God Bless you/Bryan and your new family Steph. They are precious, they are indeed gifts from God, specially sent to you and Bryan. Can’t wait to meet them!
    love,
    Sue/Bob

Leave a Reply

