Week Four: And then they smiled…

As I write this post Emily (Miss Em, Emmie Bear, Lil Hornet) is laying on my chest sleeping.  The other girls went down for a nap and Emily is the one who is always afraid she is going to miss something so she has stayed awake.  Again, she is eager..:)  This week has been a dramatic improvement from the last.  The girls crying and upset tummies have been helped with the aid of some new medication and change in formula.  Poor Avery had an allergic reaction to the previous formula and has broken out all over her face.  We hope it heals soon.  In addition to their improvement we hired a gal who is a former OB nurse and has five children of her own which two are a set of twins.  We had to seek relief for our sleepless nights and give our families a break.  She has been wonderful and is really great with the girls.  She won’t be a permanent fixture but will be with us through these next few weeks to help us over the hump!

This week, I am grateful for triple the sideways smiles that are developing, the tiny fingers that wiggle that they are so fasinated by and the ounces upon ounces they continue to gain each day.  All the girls are over six pounds and growing like weeds!  They have all doubled or tripled their birth weight in 10 weeks!!!

One major time saver in my life has been the fact that I am no longer breastfeeding/pumping.  I never thought I would have emotions about not breastfeeding but I did.  From the minute they were born I knew that it was my job to provide them with the best part of me until I was not able to anymore.  I used the six weeks they were in the NICU dedicated to pumping up to eight times a day and stock piled my supply so they would have the best chance possible.  I was able to keep it all up until about a week ago.  They are more active, so I am sleeping less, eating less, thus my supply went way down.  I knew the moments I had in between feedings needed to be dedicated to being healthy myself and that they would be just fine on formula full time.  Although I never really nursed, breastfeeding was something I knew was a God thing for these girls who were premature and I am grateful I could provide for almost 12 weeks.  But, I kiss the pump, sore breasts, and mastitis GOODBYE with a smile on  my face.  I can now replace those moments with a shower instead.  Hahaha.

Last week, I also got out of the house with all the girls on my own.  I went to visit my former co-workers at OERB.  I really missed all the people there and they were looking forward to seeing the girls so I was determined to venture out.  It was helpful to know I would be welcomed with open arms (to carry the car seats that is) so we could enjoy an afternoon visit.  It felt great to have the freedom with the girls and I think we just take more baby steps (no pun intended) to make our lives as normal as possible.

So, with a little more sleep in our lives, babies that are a little more happy and a strong support system that keeps us afloat, I am grateful.  To all the mommies out there for this Mother’s Day I say this..I hope you are honored for the sacrifices you make everyday to put your family first in your life.  I hope your babies’ smile big at you, hug you tight and make everyday worth the next.  So far being a mom is pretty great!  It is a reward to see your babies happy and healthy.  I still stare at Avery, Emily and Camdyn and can’t believe they were inside of me…all at once!  God is an amazing God.  Thank you for the greatest blessings of all.  It makes me appreciate my own mom more and makes me very grateful for a mother-in-law that is so present in my life and the girls. 

Happy Mother’s Day my dear Mommy friends 🙂  I am honored to be in your club!

One thought on “Week Four: And then they smiled…

  1. That is so sweet it almost brought a tear! So happy that things are running a little smoother and all healthy.

    Welcome to motherhood and to all the joys that go with it!

    I can’t imagine not having my kids in my life. We are so blessed!

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

