And then they were….FOUR

Ballet party - girls together

The past two years have flown by as we have watched these precious girls grow up before our eyes.  The first two years didn’t go by as fast. Haha.  I have many people ask me what is harder, when they were babies or now.  I actually think that now is when the real work begins.  The lessons, the guidance, the discipline, and the strides and milestones.  We focused so much on their actual physical growth for so long since they were so tiny at birth.  Now, we see these little girls who baffle us with their words and make us laugh with their actions.  I will have to also admit, they make us tear our hair out at times too.

As we move forward into these next years, I like any parent, just wants their babies to be happy.  I want the girls to love each other and love themselves, but I know that realistically those probably will all have their off days too.   In a world full of messages about how to dress, how to act and what to do, I pray I have the wisdom to instill values that are consistent to helping have a happy heart to lead them down a great path in life.

Birthday Girls with Candle

But, let’s face it.  At four, we care about playing dress up, watching cartoons, crafting, going to dance and gymnastics and seeing friends.  We also care about picking on each other and fighting relentlessly for our attention.   So, in the midst of Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood and Calliou, I am taking lessons from ole’ Mister Rogers and Calliou’s Mommy and Daddy, who ALWAYS WEAR THE SAME CLOTHES (They must have taken notes from other stay-at-home parents), so I know how to deliver and lay down the law.  Ya right!  I think I am successful at getting their actual attention half the time but I am working on pulling up my exhausted boot straps and getting back on the horse to not let these princesses dominate the castle.

DSC_0177

They are funny.  Say the darndest things.  Amazing cuddlers.  Kind hearts.  Still don’t care to sleep much.  Don’t turn down a treat.  Most definitely have their Daddy’s humor and maybe Mommy’s weirdness…and never meet a stranger (which we will have to work on stranger danger more because they just love people…period…). But most of all…they are ALL MINE.  What I would have given to see into my future years ago to witness this journey unfold.  Who knows if I would have ran in the other direction instead of choosing baptism by fire.  As I have learned and stated before, God always is never wrong.  He never makes a mistake.  My four-year-olds are the most precious gift this gal could ask for and I hope they continue to be a gift to this world.

Avery,Camdyn and Emily – You provide what I never knew I needed in my life until you came along.  You make me feel like I truly did something magical and right with my life.  You force me to be young, strong and stay on my toes.  You make me love harder, pray more steadfast, and have changed my need to have everything perfect the first time.  My imperfect life was made perfect the moment you were conceived.  I am so grateful for you crazy four-year-olds!

Avery       Camdyn  Emily

One thought on “And then they were….FOUR

  1. You always inspire me and I can relate to what you are saying in my own imperfect, yet somehow perfect “for me” life! You are blessed with a wonderful responsibility and are equipped to handle it!! Such joy and so much success are just a couple of the wonderful things I see in your life.

Leave a Reply

