Life’s a dance…you learn as you go…

girls on floor

It’s an old John Michael Montgomery song that says, “Life’s a dance, you learn as you go….sometimes you lead…sometimes you follow..,”  well if that is not the truth lately.  I am more like FOLLOWING these crazy little girls.  Working on my leading!  This year has gone by so incredibly fast and my heart is only preparing for all the others to do so as well.

We ended our year of preschool learning so much.  One of my favorite things has to be them coming home and reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.  It is like I almost anticipated the “INDA_BIZABLE” part and loved it so when they did.   They are working on writing their names and they for sure have a very large version of a capital letter down pat. (Usually taking up the entire page).  Their vocabulary is something that blows my mind.  One day you remember them barely saying a sentence two years ago and the next day they know all the words to Shake it Off!  I hope that is not a precursor to taking after me and my love for useless entertainment knowledge.   I may not be able to remember a chapter I just read of a certain book in middle school or a geometry equation but I could sure remember all the songs that New Kids on the Block sang.  Even 25 years later, I still do.  That part of me and my corny ways is a whole other type of blog!  Below was the first day of preschool in August.  Oh my how they already look so much more mature today!

First day of preschool fall 2014

The girls have enjoyed continuing gymnastics and dance.  Performing was a whole other accomplishment that I am very proud of them doing.  Avery had no problem at their recent first recital standing on the huge stage in front of people.  She doesn’t lack for confidence and that is nothing new!  Camdyn has always been a little shy when it comes to trying new things and she defiantly didn’t care for this something new and scary idea.  Emily, I believe loves to shake her little groove thing, and is totally sassy about it too, but I think just to be in cahoots she joined Camdyn being utterly scared during dress rehearsal.  But, like the soldiers and darling girls they are…show time comes and they are looking for their number one fans in the crowd and they did it!  Not much to expect with four year olds other than them looking adorable in costumes.  Putting makeup on a four year old is another story.  Makeup on three four year olds and being somewhere at a certain time is not my idea of a relaxing hobby.  Dance mother may not be on my resume.

DSC_0272

So much talk this year about where we were sending the girls to school when there is still two years away from Kindergarten.  Then as the months went by I realized that the summer of 2016 will be the last summer before the hoopla of REAL school.  In anticipation my heart has been holding them a little closer these days.  This summer I am going to attempt to pick a Thursday each week that I will spend with just one.  Our own little day.  May not be much in the scheme of things but in all things triplets it is going to be pretty fun to have some individual time letting them decide what we are going to do that day.  There is already tears about who is “going first.”

We are blessed with sweet natured children.  Kind and really, really, darn funny.  Along with their obsessions with bathroom humor, we are working on not tattling on each other, “fibbing” to Mom and Dad, and manners.

girls-306

girls-126

Recently, we were blessed in our family with the birth of our nephew, Coy.  Yes, there is a boy now in the mix.  Bless his little namesake heart he may not have a chance with all these girls including his big sister Reagan.  She isn’t tough to spot!  Cute little brown haired girl in the middle of all those look alikes.  Of course, holding a little one has made my heart just melt.  Bryan sees that look and has thrown out some, “you are crazy,” comments.  So, I am campaigning for a puppy in the near future instead!  At least they can’t whine and talk back to you!

 

We are excited for summer and looking forward to our first family vacation in September to Florida.  That blog post would be epic to report on traveling in airports with three four year olds!  But I am really looking forward to the memories.

Blessings and good luck to all the mamas who will be home ALL summer, EVERY DAY, ALL DAY, with their kiddos again. Hehehe.  We are all in this world of organized chaos.  Most days, there is no where else I would rather be!

3 thoughts on “Life’s a dance…you learn as you go…

  1. What precious, precious memories! Thank you Stephanie for letting me be a part of their little lives in this way.

  2. stephanie, I loved reading this! You are an amazing mommy, and blessed with a beautiful family!:) I also think, during all your free time,ha, you should think about becoming the next Erma Bombeck! You have the ‘gift’ sweet friend…go for it!:)

Leave a Reply

