Thursdays with a Trip: Avery’s adventure

Avery zoo 2015

This summer, I am working on a new idea for our ever so delightful threesome.  As any mother knows, it is difficult once you add another child, or two or three or four, to the mix to spend quality time with each individually.  I never really had that alone time with one baby to begin with, so spending individual time with each of my girls is something I really crave.  As blessed as this gift is having triplets I always really missed the opportunity to hold each of them for an extended period of time without one of the others screaming or needing something.  I never had the chance to really stare at them while they were sleeping, because they NEVER DID.  All those first with a newborn you cherish were so crazy and such a blur that I still really need that time with my girls and I think they need it too.

On Thursdays, I will be adventuring with one of the girls to wherever (within reason) they want to go with just ME.  May seem silly to some, but it really is a joy to take a breath and focus on one of them at a time.  You can imagine the process of choosing who goes first right?  I need to post Camdyn’s day which was the week before just by chance…So it was between Emily and Avery.  I made Daddy do this one and they drew names.  Ironically, there were no tears and Emily and Camdyn went to their summer session at their school with smiles and had a great day.

avery and mommy day at the zoo 2015

Avery chose the zoo…with everyone else in the city!  Here we are with our little selfie shot!  She grabbed my hand and my heart already knew it would be a great day.  She instantly picked the sea-lion show, stingray bay and the children’s area to play in the streams and spray grounds.  Avery is typically pretty loud and lately been full of a lot of sass.  As we walked hand in hand, I felt somewhat naked or like I was missing something the whole time.  Oh ya, the other two! Surprisingly, she wanted to hold my hand almost the entire time which was wonderful.  We sat at the sea-lion show and she smiled and was sometimes so quiet that I had to ask her if she was okay.  I began to realize that maybe she is loud to make a point or even to fight her way in the conversation battle for my attention versus her sisters.

Avery with Stingrays

Oddly, I felt a tad more anxious without the girls because I think I was so concerned with pleasing her and making sure she was happy.  We laughed and took our time together.  Then after we left she demanded a Happy Meal for lunch. Shocker!  We went to pick up her sisters.  Emily was so sweet and made Avery a picture.  But, don’t be fooled we were back to our picking on each other ways the minute we stepped into the car.  I just took a deep breath and realized its back to the grind!  I enjoyed our day so much and I am looking forward to another one.  I hope to continue this tradition with them in the future so I intently focus on each girl as an individual. Many people ask me if they are different in their ways.  It’s a little silly because children that are not born on the same day or different right?  I do understand the question though.  They do share some pretty neat DNA.

We teach the girls how lucky they are to be who they are and how they came into this world so miraculously.  It is only human nature to crave for a parent to know who they are in this world, “By Myself.”  Which is what the girls always say. (the By Myself part :)).  Just like Av peaking through this butterfly, the trips all have different colors and different wings that will take them different places in the world.  I am just trying to hold onto what I can before they want to fly off.  We will blink and it we will be there. So I am told by every mother in the world.

Avery with Stingrays

Leave a Reply

