Thursdays with a Trip: Emily’s Day

Emily at Zoo with Mom

Well, here we are again.  Another Thursdays with a Trip edition and this time its with Emily Ray.  Again, I have told the girls they can pick what they wanna do with me within reason.  After Avery came home last week from the zoo, and bragging about it might I add, where do you think Emmie wanted to go?  Yep, we were off to the zoo.  I wasn’t exactly thrilled but I saw it coming.  I had it mapped out this time!  She picked pretty much the same path as Avery so I knew how to stay focused and out of the crowds and heat for as long as we could.

The sea-lion show was first.  As you see in this picture above she picked out a stuffed sea-lion.  Like we don’t enough stuffed animals as it is, I just could not refuse that face when she picked it out.  The magical moment of that was that when I asked her to pick one she responded with, “Well, what about Avery and Camdyn?”  My heart was so happy that considered them first.  Not going to lie, but as much as I wish this was the case with them all the time, don’t get it fooled.  We are not perfect! We are just like all other families and siblings.  We do love to praise them when they shine through and this was one of those moments.  That being said, Em picked out sea lions for each sister and we enjoyed the show.  She constantly wanted to know if I was doing the same exact thing with her as I did with Avery so she wouldn’t feel like she was missing out on anything.

Em and Me at Zoo

Emily is a really funny girl.  She has the quirkiest sense of humor.  Her Daddy and I are both a little strange in humor ourselves so it isn’t surprising.  She has a very creative imagination.  She used to really like to do things on her own and keep to herself. Lately, she has turned into my little show stopper in terms of putting on made up dances and singing shows.  Her Daddy has always called her “Bug” or “Emmie Bug.”  She recently told us she doesn’t like to be called Bug.  Emmie Bug was okay or Tink (which we always thought she was like a little Tinkerbell.)   Already establishing her identity!

Emily looking over fence at zooSince birth, Emily has always been a little fighter.  We also remind her we called her Little Hornet when we first brought her home because that little girl knew how to get so mad so quickly!  My little 2 pound girl is anything of the sorts anymore.  Still a fighter by nature, but a fashionista at heart.  At our house if you see dress up clothes ALL OVER THE PLACE they usually are created by her.  Once they end up back in her room it looks like the floor of a dressing room and nothing that she tried worked!  She has a very creative style that we do have to reel in sometimes when in public but I sure love her charisma.

And…you will never see such a tiny thing put down pizza like she does!  It’s not always great on my waistline, but they love Hideaway pizza.  I mean, who doesn’t?  I don’t weigh 30 pounds though either.

Emily at Hideaway

All in all we had a great day!  It is sure fun to look forward to and its fun to hear them tell stories about their day with me to their sisters and friends at school!  One of the best parts was her running to Avery and Camdyn and telling them she missed them.  Camdyn and Avery had pictures to share they drew for her.  It was a good day 🙂  Those are the moments that make the hair raising, screaming, fighting, tantrums, tears etc…worth every minute of it.  Hopefully, something we teach them is catching on.

Until next Thursday with my Camdyn girl.  I will have to think of something new and exciting about the zoo to tell everyone.  I don’t doubt she already has her mind made up.  I am praying for rain.

Blessings,

Momma to happy and silly little girls

Leave a Reply

